Low Price Guarantee Low Price Guarantee
Fast, Free Shipping Fast, Free Shipping
Customer Service 5-Star Service
No Hassle Returns No Hassle Returns
By browsing, you consent to our use of Cookies.

Kailub Russell Wins Power Line GNCC

Chaparral Motorsports
October 8, 2012

[caption id="attachment_15719" align="alignright" width="300"]Kailub Russell 2012 GNCC Power Line - 1st Place The overall win was a big boost for Kailub Russell, who is now only 4 points behind Paul Whibley in the overall championship point standings - Photo: Shan Moore[/caption]

Factory FMF/KTM riders Kailub Russell and Charlie Mullins topped the podium at the eleventh round of the GNCC Series held at Power Line Park finishing 1st and 2nd respectively. The overall win was a big boost for Russell who is now only 4 points behind Paul Whibley in the overall championship point standings.

Russell and Mullins both started the race inside the top three. By the end of the first lap both riders had passed Whibley and began to charge forward out front. After Whibley suffered a crash, it was just the two FMF/KTM teammates battling out front for the remainder of the three-hour endurance race.

On the final lap, Mullins was able to make a pass on Russell for the lead but made a mistake shortly after that allowed Russell to get back by. When the riders approached the finish line they were wheel to wheel. With a little extra gas, Russell was able to edge out his teammate to collect the win.

"We are very proud of both of our riders today," remarked Factory FMF/KTM Team Manager Antti Kallonen. "Mullins is still riding injured after hurting his shoulder at the ISDE and we are thrilled that he was able to give such an impressive performance today. Russell also rode strong all day and is very determined to keep his bike on the top step of the podium in the final two rounds. The points chase is very close and we expect it will come down to the wire."

[caption id="attachment_15721" align="alignleft" width="300"]Charlie Mullins 2012 GNCC Power Line - 2nd Place Charlie Mullins is still riding injured after hurting his shoulder at the ISDE, yet he was able to give an impressive performance - Photo: Shan Moore[/caption]

The Factory FMF/KTM Team had even more to celebrate this weekend after the reigning Women's GNCC Champion, Maria Forsberg, won the women's class but also took the overall in the morning class. This is the first time a female rider has won the overall in the morning class at a GNCC event.

"It feels great to get the overall win," stated Forsberg. "It has been our goal since the beginning of the year and we have come so close a few times but finally got it today. It is always a good feeling to win your class but to lead the overall is an accomplishment I am very proud of."

Next Event: Crawfordsville, IN - October 20-21, 2012

Source: KTM North America

Power Line Overview And Point Standings

2012 Can-Am GNCC Power Line Image Gallery (Click for full size images)

Overall Results - XC1 Class

  1. Kailub Russell
  2. Charlie Mullins
  3. Paul Whibley
  4. Thad Duvall
  5. Rory Mead
  6. Takeshi Koikeda
  7. Garrett Edmisten
  8. Jordan Ashburn
  9. Jimmy Jarrett
  10. Nathan Kanney

GNCC XC1 Point Standings - ( Round 11 of 13 )

  1. Paul Whibley - 274
  2. Kailub Russell - 270
  3. Rory Mead - 205
  4. Thaddeus Duvall - 186
  5. Charlie Mullins - 168

Overall Results - XC2 Class

  1. Jason Thomas
  2. Aaron Plessinger
  3. Andrew Delong
  4. Scott Grills
  5. Steward Baylor
  6. Jedediah Haines
  7. Christopher Douglas
  8. Zach Nolan
  9. AJ Stewart
  10. Ryan Lojak

GNCC XC2 Point Standings - ( Round 11 of 13 )

  1. Jason Thomas - 241
  2. Steward Baylor - 237
  3. Andrew Delong - 229
  4. Jedediah Haines - 183
  5. Brad Bakken - 156

Overall Results - Women's Class

  1. Maria Forsberg
  2. Becca Sheets
  3. Samantha Steiner
  4. Sarah Baldwin
  5. Leeann Bange
  6. Allie Spurgeon
  7. Karlynn Beam
  8. Nina Cobb
  9. Rachel Gutish
  10. Heather Cosner

GNCC Women's Point Standings - ( Round 11 of 13 )

  1. Maria Forsberg - 180 - 2012 Champion
  2. Hannah Otto - 153
  3. Becca Sheets - 146
  4. Leeann Bange - 145
  5. Rachel Gutish - 127
Back to Top