Low Price Guarantee Low Price Guarantee
Fast, Free Shipping Fast, Free Shipping
Customer Service 5-Star Service
No Hassle Returns No Hassle Returns
By browsing, you consent to our use of Cookies.

Monster Energy Supercross Celebrates 40 Years This Weekend In Anaheim

Chaparral Motorsports
January 16, 2014

Feld Motor Sports® announced today that Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, will celebrate its 40th anniversary this Saturday, January 18, as the world's best riders return to Anaheim, Calif., and Angel Stadium for the third race of the 2014 season.

The 40th Anniversary Celebration Race will honor the champions of both past and present, in addition to celebrating the nostalgia and illustrious history of this one-of-a-kind sport. The track inside Angel Stadium will mimic the layout from the 2001 season, which signified the changing of the guard from one legend to another as Ricky Carmichael won his very first 450SX Class title and Jeremy McGrath completed his final full season of competition, winning one final time in Anaheim to set the landmark record of 72 victories.

The action from Anaheim kicks off Saturday, live on FOX Sports 1 at 10:30 p.m. ET .Media day is Thursday, January 16, from Noon-2:00 p.m. locally (PT). Supercross legends Pierre Karsmakers, Jimmy Ellis, Jeff Ward, Donnie Hansen and Johnny O'Mara will join Red Bull KTM riders Dungey, the 2010 Monster Energy Supercross Champion, and Ken Roczen, the winner of the first race of the 2014 season, at the pre-race press conference.

672cb079-a149-48e0-b84c-5060feb3201eLast weekend in front of nearly 50,000 fans inside Phoenix's Chase Field, reigning three-time 450SX Class Champion Ryan Villopoto captured his first win of the 2014 season aboard his Monster Energy Kawasaki. Villopoto worked hard for his victory, passing eight riders en route to the lead and taking over the early points lead in doing so. Coming into Anaheim, Villopoto carries a slim one-point advantage over longtime rival and Red Bull KTM rider Ryan Dungey.

The first race held in Anaheim was on December 4, 1976, and Mart Smith won on a Honda. This weekend will mark the 62nd time the gate will drop for a 450SX Class race in Anaheim and the 24th time the city has played host to the season opener. James Stewart, Ricky Carmichael and Jeremy McGrath are tied on the all-time 450SX Class win list at Anaheim with 8 victories. Ivan Tedesco holds the 250SX Class all-time win record in Anaheim with 5 victories. Angel Stadium is the only stop on the tour that will host three races - January 4, January 18 and February 1.


Back to Top