Low Price Guarantee Low Price Guarantee
Fast, Free Shipping Fast, Free Shipping
Customer Service 5-Star Service
No Hassle Returns No Hassle Returns
By browsing, you consent to our use of Cookies.

2013 AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Foggy Mountain Results

Chaparral Motorsports
June 26, 2013

Charlie Mullins Breaks Down Foggy Mountain Enduro

[caption id="attachment_27321" align="alignright" width="300"]Charlie Mullins 2013 AMA National Enduro Foggy Mountain - 1st Place Charlie Mullins added win number six for the year in the Rekluse AMA National Enduro Series at Foggy Mountain - Photo: Shan Moore[/caption]

Charlie Mullins added win number six for the year in the Rekluse AMA National Enduro Series at this weekend's Foggy Mountain National Enduro in Blain, Pennsylvania. By doing so, the FMF/KTM rider padded his lead in the motorsports series standings, which new stands at 36 points over Nick Fahringer with just three rounds remaining on the schedule.

Mullins' win in Pennsylvania wasn't quite as easy as he's grown accustomed to, however, as factory Husaberg rider Mike Lafferty challenged Mullins in the rough and rocky terrain. The eight-time national champ won two of the six tests - the first and the fifth - and was just six seconds behind Mullins entering the final test of the day. Mullins was up to the task, however, winning the final test by five seconds over Lafferty, giving him the overall win by an 11-second margin over the Husaberg rider after 65 miles of racing.

"I thought I threw it away in the first test of the day," said Mullins. "I fell three times and I over-shot two corners, which wasn't a good start to the event. We changed the front tire before the second test and I kind of settled down and got back into a groove."

Lafferty was pleased with the runner-up spot, although he would have liked to have won the race.

"At least we know we're on the right track and kind of back in the mix," said Lafferty.

[caption id="attachment_27323" align="alignleft" width="300"]Charlie Mullins 2013 AMA National Enduro - Foggy Mountain Charlie Mullins won four of six tests and finished first by a margin of 11 seconds - Photo: Shan Moore[/caption]

Third went to Radiant AirGroup Racing's Nick Fahringer, who needed a strong final test to steal the final podium spot away from Am Pro Yamaha's Jesse Groemm.

"I never really felt comfortable today," said Fahringer. "I just wasn't feeling that fire until the last two sections. I think I was trying too hard to be smooth at the cost of any kind of aggression. I knew I was behind Jesse at the end and I stepped it up in the final two tests and just barely squeaked by."

Groemm held on for fourth, disappointed at missing the podium.

"I kept it upright all day except for one incident and I think I had a good day overall," said Groemm. "However, I think I was a little too conservative in that final test, I was a little nervous, and I might have given too much away."

[caption id="attachment_27322" align="alignright" width="300"]2013 AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Foggy Mountain Winner's Podium 2013 AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Foggy Mountain Winner's Podium - Photo: Shan Moore[/caption]

Grant Baylor, brother of defending champ Stu Baylor, finished fifth on a KTM, edging Obermeyer Yamaha/Raines Racing University/Offroadviking's Brad Bakken by 24 seconds.

Colorado KTM rider Ian Blythe finished the day in seventh, with Shenandoah Honda's Thad DuVall taking eighth 50 seconds back.

Ryder Lafferty, nephew of Mike Lafferty, claimed his first top-10 national finish with a ninth, while Paddy Holloway did the same on his Radiant AirGroup Racing Husaberg.

The Rekluse AMA National Enduro Series returns to action on July 28 in Cross Fork, Pennsylvania, for the Rattle Snake Enduro. For more info on the series go to

Source: National Enduro Promotions Group

Charlie Mullins Wins Foggy Mountain National Enduro

[caption id="attachment_27324" align="alignright" width="300"]Charlie Mullins 2013 AMA National Enduro - Foggy Mountain "This was definitely a hard fought win," stated Charlie Mullins - Photo: Shan Moore[/caption]

Factory FMF/KTM rider Charlie Mullins earned his sixth win of the season at the seventh round of the Rekluse/AMA National Enduro Series after a tight battle with veteran rider Mike Lafferty.

Mullins struggled in the first test section after he suffered a crash which cost him a lot of time and placed him sixth overall in that test section. He was able to find his rhythm in the second test where he scored the fastest time. He then continued his streak to take the fastest time in the next two test sections.

Heading to the final test, Mullins had pulled himself out of his time deficit and was leading by 6 seconds on Lafferty. "I knew I had to have a great ride in the last section to hold on for the win," commented Mullins. "Luckily, I rode a mistake free test and came out the fastest by 5 seconds."

Mullins time allowed him to take the win by 11 seconds over Lafferty who would finish in the runner-up position. Nick Fahringer went on to finish in third position, followed by Jesse Groemm and KTM support rider Grant Baylor.

"This was definitely a hard fought win," stated Mullins. "Mike always gives me a challenge at the rocky courses and this one was definitely a technical course. I am happy to pull out the win and continue to stretch my points lead prior to the summer break."

Next Event: Cross Fork, PA - July 28, 2013

Source: KTM North America

Foggy Mountain Overview And Point Standings

2013 AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Foggy Mountain Video by Shan Moore

2013 AMA/Rekluse National Enduro Foggy Mountain Image Gallery (Click for full size images)

Overall Results

Rider Name Brand Class Row Number
of Checks
Total Time
1 Charlie Mullins KTM Pro 21A 12 24:02
2 Mike Lafferty HSB Pro 24A 12 24:13
3 Nick Fahringer HSB Pro 22A 12 25:22
4 Jesse Groemm YAM Pro 25A 12 25:25
5 Grant Baylor KTM Pro 26A 12 26:28
6 Brad Bakken YAM Pro 23A 12 26:52
7 Ian Blythe KTM Pro 27A 12 27:14
8 Thad DuVall HON Pro 35A 12 28:04
9 Ryder Lafferty HSB A 250 36E 12 28:46
10 Paddy Holloway KTM Pro 34A 12 28:56
11 Kyle McDonal HSB Pro 29A 12 29:21
12 Richard Lafferty KTM A 30+ 34D 12 29:52
13 Jeff Melik GG Pro 40A 12 30:21
14 Nick Davis HSQ Pro 37A 12 30:25
15 Russell Bobbitt HSB Pro 31A 12 30:27
16 Tegan Robert Temple KTM A 250 23C 12 30:50
17 Broc Hepler YAM A 250 86C 12 31:23
18 Jeff Pasqua KTM A 30+ 41B 12 31:40
19 Michael McGinnis KTM Pro 43A 12 32:51
20 Ryan Belue YAM A 250 28D 12 33:30

Point Standings - Pro Class ( Race 7 of 10 )

  1. Charlie Mullins - 190
  2. Nick Fahringer - 154
  3. Mike Lafferty - 133
  4. Russell Bobbitt - 118
  5. Grant Baylor - 105
  6. Brad Bakken - 103
  7. Jesse Groemm - 93
  8. Ian Blythe - 90
  9. Andrew DeLong - 89
  10. Kyle McDonal - 66
Back to Top