Low Price Guarantee Low Price Guarantee
Fast, Free Shipping Fast, Free Shipping
Customer Service 5-Star Service
No Hassle Returns No Hassle Returns
By browsing, you consent to our use of Cookies.

2013 AMSOIL GNCC ATV John Penton Results

Chaparral Motorsports
June 5, 2013

Chris Borich Secures the Win at Wiseco John Penton GNCC

Brycen Neal Takes The XC2 Victory In Ohio

[caption id="attachment_26745" align="alignright" width="300"]Chris Borich 2013 GNCC ATV John Penton - 1st Place Chris Borich took his sixth win of the season at the John Penton - Photo: Ken Hill[/caption]

Round 7 of the AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series made a stop in Millfield, Ohio for the 23rd running of the Wiseco John Penton GNCC. Chris Borich returned to his winning ways on Saturday, making a last lap pass on Adam McGill to secure his sixth win of 2013.

Eric Hoyland began his day by grabbing the $250 Team Woodhead/DeRisi Racing XC1 Holeshot Award ahead of a stacked field of riders. It didn't take long for the veteran front-runners to take the lead, beginning with Lonestar Racing/Precision/ITP's Adam McGill, who crossed the line in first on the opening lap. Borich put his Maxxis-backed machine right behind McGill, while Reliable Tool Supply/Maxxis' Chris Bithell, BNR's Kevin Yoho and JB Racing/Can-Am's Jarrod McClure followed close behind.

AmPro Yamaha's Walker Fowler and HMF/GBC/Yamaha's Johnny Gallagher didn't get a start out front but the Yamaha-backed duo quickly made their way through the pack. Fowler caught up to the leaders, where he engaged in a battle for a podium position with Bithell, Borich and McGill. A podium finish was in the cards for Fowler until he ran out of gas on the final lap, where he ended up finishing fourth overall for the day.

[caption id="attachment_26750" align="alignleft" width="300"]Adam McGill 2013 GNCC ATV John Penton - 2nd Place Adam McGill led the most laps of the afternoon race, securing 2nd overall - Photo: Ken Hill[/caption]

Although McGill led the most laps of the afternoon, it was Borich who secured the overall win with his patented last-lap pass. McGill's second place finish was a breakthrough ride, as it matched his season-best second place at the opening round. Bithell's consistent season continued as the Pennsylvania native secured a third place overall finish.

Gallagher put in a solid ride to take fifth overall, while Yoho came in sixth. Rookie Braden Henthorn finished seventh, while Jeff Pickens, Gabe Phillips and Craig Bowman rounded out the top 10.

Borich continues to lead the overall standings after six rounds of racing, while Fowler sits in second place. Bithell is close behind for third and then it's McGill and Yoho rounding out the top five overall in the overall National Championship standings.

[caption id="attachment_26747" align="alignright" width="300"]2013 GNCC ATV John Penton XC2 Winner's Podium ATV XC2 podium: Landon Wolfe, Brycen Neal, Fred Marley - Photo: Ken Hill[/caption]

In the XC2 division, it was once again Brycen Neal who came out victorious at the John Penton GNCC. After missing the last round due to injury, Landon Wolfe secured an impressive second place finish in Ohio. Indiana's Fred Marley secured yet another podium finish behind the rookies, giving him a solid fourth place in the class standings. Additionally, Marley kicked off the day by grabbing the All Balls Racing Holeshot in the XC2 class, taking home an extra $100.

After seven rounds of racing, Neal holds the points lead in the XC2 division, while defending champion Patrick McGuire, who finished 19th in Ohio, sits in second place overall. Wolfe currently holds third place in the overall standings.

Indiana's Marshal Goings topped the College A class, also claiming the Top Amateur Award for the afternoon. Goings' impressive ninth place finish put him at the second highest non-pro rider in the overall standings, finishing only two positions behind XC2 winner Brycen Neal.

The 2013 AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country Series continues June 15 and 16 with the Wiseco John Penton GNCC in Millfield, Ohio. For more information on the series, visit

About GNCC Racing
The AMSOIL Grand National Cross Country series is America's premier off-road racing series. Founded in 1975, the 13-round championship is produced exclusively by Racer Productions. Cross-country racing is one of the most physically demanding sports in the world. The grueling three-hour GNCC races lead as many as 1,500 riders through tracks ranging in length from eight to 12 miles. With varied terrain, including hills, woods, mud, dirt, rocks and motocross sections, GNCC events are tests of both survival and speed. The series draws talent from all over the U.S., Europe, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. GNCC Racing is televised weekly on NBC Sports and For more information, please visit

Source: GNCC Racing

Video Report - Round 7 - John Penton ATVs

Source: GNCC Racing

John Penton GNCC ATV Overview And Point Standings

2013 GNCC ATV Series John Penton Image Gallery (Click for full size images)

Overall Results

Place Racer Class # Brand Laps Elapsed Time
1 Chris Borich XC1 Pro 001 SUZ 5 02:19:20.109
2 Adam McGill XC1 Pro 521 HON 5 02:19:34.593
3 Chris Bithell XC1 Pro 004 SUZ 5 02:19:55.671
4 Walker Fowler XC1 Pro 002 YAM 5 02:25:01.531
5 Johnny Gallagher XC1 Pro 008 YAM 5 02:25:50.828
6 Kevin Yoho XC1 Pro 007 YAM 5 02:25:57.234
7 Brycen Neal XC2 Pro Am 017 HON 5 02:26:32.046
8 Braden Henthorn XC1 Pro 010 HON 5 02:26:36.453
9 Marshal Goings College A (16-21) 997 HON 5 02:27:13.265
10 Jay Shadron College A (16-21) 032 YAM 5 02:27:13.421
11 Jeffrey Pickens XC1 Pro 012 YAM 5 02:28:11.187
12 Landon Wolfe XC2 Pro Am 018 SUZ 5 02:28:41.015
13 Fred Marley XC2 Pro Am 025 HON 5 02:30:25.125
14 Gabe Phillips XC1 Pro 015 YAM 5 02:30:57.750
15 Michael Lancaster XC2 Pro Am 807 HON 5 02:32:55.375
16 Brody Livengood XC2 Pro Am 042 YAM 5 02:33:20.687
17 Craig Bowman XC1 Pro 549 HON 5 02:33:35.968
18 James Green XC2 Pro Am 030 HON 5 02:34:05.140
19 Joshua Merritt XC2 Pro Am 019 YAM 5 02:34:51.656
20 Nathan Wallpe XC2 Pro Am 026 HON 5 02:34:52.609

Rider Point Standings - XC1 Pro Class ( Race 7 of 13 )

  1. Chris Borich - 201
  2. Walker Fowler - 141
  3. Chris Bithell - 139
  4. Adam McGill - 132
  5. Kevin Yoho - 101
  6. Jeff Pickens - 99
  7. Johnny Gallagher - 96
  8. Jarrod McClure - 96
  9. Braden Henthorn - 95
  10. Gabe Phillips - 83

Rider Point Standings - XC2 Pro Am Class ( Race 7 of 13 )

  1. Brycen Neal - 179
  2. Patrick McGuire - 136
  3. Landon Wolfe - 123
  4. Fred Marley - 116
  5. Randy Hamilton - 99
  6. Michael Lancaster - 92
  7. Josh Merritt - 88
  8. Blake Kramer - 88
  9. Chad Jones - 85
  10. Nathan Wallpe - 82

Overall ATV National Championship Standings
Overall ATV National Championship Standings will determine the 2013 National Champion.

  1. Chris Borich - 201
  2. Walker Fowler - 133
  3. Chris Bithell - 126
  4. Adam McGill - 121
  5. Kevin Yoho - 95
  6. Jeff Pickens - 89
  7. Johnny Gallagher - 83
  8. Braden Henthorn - 81
  9. Jarrod McClure - 74
  10. Brycen Neal - 73
Back to Top