Low Price Guarantee Low Price Guarantee
Fast, Free Shipping Fast, Free Shipping
Customer Service 5-Star Service
No Hassle Returns No Hassle Returns
By browsing, you consent to our use of Cookies.

KTM And Kawasaki Look To Dethrone Honda In Baja San Felipe 250

Chaparral Motorsports
March 9, 2012
KTM And Kawasaki Look To Dethrone Honda In Baja San Felipe 250

The Baja San Felipe 250 hasn't exactly been the most exciting race for the past decade and a half, as Honda's dominance actually chased all other manufacturers from the competition. The first of three off-road races in the SCORE Desert Series, the San Felipe 250 has been won by a Honda team 15 years in a row. This year, that could all change.

Kawasaki, KTM and Husqvarna all once challenged Honda in the competition, but the three manufacturers pulled out of the San Felipe in recent years due to rising costs and Honda's dominance. In fact, prior races of the San Felipe have basically been Honda racing its own two teams against a bunch of independent riders. While Husky has still not returned, Kawasaki and KTM are coming back with formidable new teams set to challenge Big Red south of the border.

Previous Honda San Felipe winners Johnny Campbell and Kendall Norman did not re-sign with Honda, reports Cycle News. Meanwhile, Honda rider Quinn Cody jumped to KTM, where he'll be paired with former WORCS Champion Mike Brown. KTM also has another team made up of Ivan Ramirez and AMA Hare & Hound Champion Kurt Caselli.

Meanwhile, Kawasaki has put together two teams of veteran off-roaders: former National Hare & Hound Champions Destry Abbott and David Pearson, and former Baja Champions Steve Hengeveld and Robby Bell. Whatever the outcome, it appears that this year's San Felipe 250 will be one of the best in years.

Back to Top